The UN and Decolonization

by José M. López Sierra – Puerto Rico


The history of the United Nations (UN) and Decolonization posted by the UN on its website is inaccurate.

There are not 17 Non- Self- Governing Territories, because Puerto Rico is not on that list. Therefore, there are 18. Why?

The Nationalist Party revolted on October 30, 1950. Although it was unsuccessful in attaining Puerto Rico independence, the United States Government (USG) decided to try to hide the fact that Puerto Rico is its colony.

The USG worked with Luis Munoz Marin in 1952 to hide the United States (US) colony by naming it, “The Commonwealth of Puerto Rico”.

With the help of Luis Munoz Marin, the USG asked the UN to remove Puerto Rico from its list of colonies in 1953 alleging that Puerto Rico had attained self-government. The UN bought it, and although it knows today that the USG lied, the UN has never returned Puerto Rico back on its list of colonies. The UN is afraid of the USG!

Therefore, the UN is not telling the truth when it says in the paragraph below that, “Today, fewer than 2 million people live in such territories”. Puerto Rico alone has more than 3 million people. In fact, because of 120 years of Puerto Rican colonialism, today more Puerto Ricans live away from their national territory!

Join the permanent resistance to force the USG to comply with the UN’s Charter that prohibits colonialism, and the 37 UN resolutions asking it to immediately return Puerto Rico’s sovereignty to the Puerto Ricans. We must, because those who hide the truth to continue to exploit other human beings don’t believe in LIBERTY AND IN JUSTICE FOR ALL!

The history of the United Nations (UN) and Decolonization found below is posted on the official UN website at this link:

“When the United Nations was established in 1945, 750 million people – almost a third of the world’s population – lived in Territories that were non-self-governing, dependent on colonial Powers. Today, fewer than 2 million people live in such Territories.

The Charter of the United Nations established, in Chapter XI (Articles 73 and 74), the principles that continue to guide United Nations decolonization efforts, including respect for self-determination of all peoples.

The United Nations Charter also established the International Trusteeship System in Chapter XII (articles 75-85) and the Trusteeship Council in Chapter XIII (articles 86-91) to monitor certain Territories, known as «Trust» Territories. Those Territories, each subject to separate agreements with administering States, were formally administered under Mandates from the League of Nations, or were separated from countries defeated in the Second World War, or were voluntarily placed under the system by States responsible for their administration. Eleven Territories were placed under this system.

Since the creation of the United Nations more than 80 former colonies have gained their independence. Among them, all eleven Trust Territories have achieved self-determination through independence or free association with an independent State. There are 17 Non-Self-Governing Territories remaining today.

The Charter binds administering Powers to recognize that the interests of dependent Territories are paramount, to agree to promote social, economic, political and educational progress in the Territories, to assist in developing appropriate forms of self-government and to take into account the political aspirations and stages of development and advancement of each Territory. Administering Powers are also obliged under the Charter to convey to the United Nations information on conditions in the Territories. The United Nations monitors progress towards self-determination in the Territories.

Hoping to speed the progress of decolonization, the General Assembly adopted, in 1960, the Declaration on the Granting of Independence to Colonial Countries and Peoples. Known as the Declaration on decolonization, it stated that all people have a right to self-determination and proclaimed that colonialism should be brought to a speedy and unconditional end.

In 1962 the General Assembly established the Special Committee on Decolonization to monitor implementation of the Declaration and to make recommendations on its application.

In 1990, the General Assembly proclaimed 1990-2000 as the International Decade for the Eradication of Colonialism and adopted a Plan of Action. In 2001, the Second International Decade for the Eradication of Colonialism was proclaimed. In 2011, the General Assembly proclaimed 2011-2020 as the Third International Decade for the Eradication of Colonialism.”

Jose M Lopez Ismael

Nací en NYC. Me mudé a Puerto Rico en el 1980 donde eventualmente me convertí en independentista al ver que PR no se administra para los boricuas. Me retiré tempranamente de la pedagogía para luchar 24/7 por la descolonización de Puerto Rico a través de marchas pacíficas anuales y empujar a la ONU hacer su trabajo. Necesitaremos un tsunami de gente protestando permanentemente para obligar a USA a cumplir con la ley internacional que prohíbe el coloniaje.

Deja una respuesta

Tu dirección de correo electrónico no será publicada. Los campos obligatorios están marcados con *

Este sitio usa Akismet para reducir el spam. Aprende cómo se procesan los datos de tus comentarios.